Top 10 Beginner’s Verses

Posted: February 27, 2013 by Dillon in Theology
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever been around those Christians who could pretty much quote the entire Bible like it was their phone number?  It can either be impressive or discouraging, depending on your own study.  About 2 years ago I decided I wanted to memorize some really helpful verses: strength, encouragement, perseverance, or just a little theology.

Dillon’s Top 10 for Beginners!

  1. Romans 3:23 “For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God”
  2. Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.”
  3. Matthew 28:19-20 “Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”
  4. Colossians 3:23 “And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men.”
  5. Romans 5:8 “But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”
  6. John 14:6 “Jesus said to him, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.'”
  7. Joshua 1:9 “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.”
  8. Galatians 2:20 “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”
  9. Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”
  10. John 3:16 “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

All of the listed translations are from the New King James version (my personal Bible for study).  If you click the verse it will take you to an online parallel Bible that will present ALL the translations for you!  What are you waiting for?

Comments
  1. Emily says:

    My personal favorite resource: The Topical Memory System, published by Navs. There’s a general one with chapters like “Live the New Life,” “Proclaim Christ,” and “Grow in Christlikeness.” (12 verses per chapter, 60 in total – conveniently written on note cards and held within a handy card carrier) They also publish subject specific resources (Self-Image, Greed, etc.) and an app! It’s free on Android, and not that expensive on the Apple Store.
    Good luck 🙂 (Ps. 119:11)

Leave a Reply

