I’m a Polytheist and You Are Too!

Posted: April 5, 2013 by Dillon in Theology
Tags: , , , , , ,

“Thou shalt have no other gods before me.” (Exodus 20:3)

1-10 commandments

Simple, right?  I don’t worship Odin and I pay no respect to Krishna.  That must mean I’m following the commandment.

But am I?

I’m a polytheist.  And so are you.  Now before you hit the back button and click “unsubscribe” hear me out.  There is only one true God, maker of the heavens and earth, existing in three parts.  But, I think there are many gods in our lives (notice the lower case).

Here’s some clarification:

god (gd) n. (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/god)

1. God
a. A being conceived as the perfect, omnipotent, omniscient originator and ruler of the universe, the principal object of faith and worship in monotheistic religions.
b. The force, effect, or a manifestation or aspect of this being.
2. A being of supernatural powers or attributes, believed in and worshiped by a people, especially a male deity thought to control some part of nature or reality.
3. An image of a supernatural being; an idol.
4. One that is worshiped, idealized, or followed: Money was their god.

Only the first definition deals with capitalized God.  But pay special attention to definition #4.  “One that is worshiped, idealized, or followed.”  You might be thinking “well I don’t worship or idealize anything!”  Really?  Be honest with yourself.  How many decisions do you make with money being the ultimate factor?  How often have you chosen money over relationships?  Or, to look at it another way, how angry were you when the Seahawks “won” against the Packers on Monday Night Football?  I use the Packers example because that’s when it first became apparent to me that I might be a polytheist.

The amount of passion I felt over that game far outweighed my passion for Jesus.  And it continued to do so for a couple of days.  Before you get all high and mighty on me, realize that you are just as guilty of putting things before Jesus.  Things that, from an eternal perspective, just don’t matter.  Jesus actually gave us a warning about falling into this trap.  “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matt 6:21)

We all do it.  Even if you walk around proclaiming to be an atheist, there are gods in your life.  You might just call them different names.  Names like: school, wealth, tv, football, or a job.  Obviously, I’m not saying you shouldn’t devote attention to those things.  You do need money to eat, education is important, etc.  But when something becomes your sole focus, it becomes your god.

I’m a polytheist.  I create and place lots of gods in my life.  But, at times, I’m a monotheist.    It’s a decision I have to make everyday.  Am I going to put my heart into many gods, or into God?
Comments
  1. Ben says:

    The agonizing fact is how true this is. Thank you for posting.

    • Dillon says:

      Definitely. It was a very convicting idea that God brought to my attention and I felt a strong need to share it. Thank you for reading.

  2. DogTags says:

    I made a similar point, only with college football.

    http://americancreed.wordpress.com/2012/12/20/american-idols/

    • Dillon says:

      DogTags, I checked out your blog. I love it! You’re a man after my own heart! If you check out my “About Me” section you’ll see that I’m a History major. Because of that, your stance on American justice with a Biblical grounding resonates with me. Kudos and thanks for reading!

      • DogTags says:

        I was a History major in my undergraduate studies at SUNY Brockport before I went to law school. I know how trying college can be with everyone challenging your faith, trying to make you slip up and are right there in your face, ridiculing you if you do. Fight the good fight, finish your course, keep the faith. When a skeptic “giant” mocks your faith and defies God and curses him by his gods, have the same righteous indignation David had when he said “who is this uncircumcised Philistine that he should defy the armies of the living God?” Remember, David took 5 stones because Goliath had 4 brothers. But, when David stood up to Goliath and God used him to slay the giant, the other giants fled with the rest of the Philistine host. David’s jealousy for God’s glory inspired others to face their giants. The Bible records how four other men killed Goliath’s brothers. Be strong and courageous.

        Thanks for taking the time to check out my blog. It’s nice to see others willing to take up the fight.

  3. Alex Melgosa says:

    It’s sad that this is indeed true.

  4. dseeuu says:

    Reblogged this on dseeuu and commented:
    Amen.

Leave a Reply

