4th Journey

Posted: May 6, 2013 by Dillon in Lifestyle
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’ve been avoiding writing about this, but I think it’s finally appropriate.

Each summer Cru (formerly Campus Crusade for Christ) organizes dozens of mission trips known as Summer Projects.

Last year, I was selected for the Boston Echo project, which put me in the heart of Boston for two weeks. This year I have been accepted to a much more challenging project known as 4J. 4J is a code name for a project that takes place in a Muslim country in the Middle East. Because of safety reasons, I can’t specify the exact location. This is part of a series of missions that take place each year attempting to establish a foothold for the Gospel in the Middle East. 4J takes place in a region that has been termed the 10/40 Window. Countries located in the 10/40 Window have the highest populations living in deep poverty, and the least access to any kind of Christian resource. By taking a leap of faith and placing ourselves in this region, we will literally be shining a light in a dark place.

Each member of this mission was hand selected based on their leadership skills and personal commitments with Christ. It’s very humbling to be part of this project, and I know I’ll be tested in ways I’ve never been tested before. It will be an unimaginable faith building experience.

As you can imagine, one of the most daunting aspects of ministry is support.  This may sound like a simple call for money, but I can assure you that is not what this is.  Finances are necessary for successful missions, but there is more at work here.  Many people only think of missions as one dimensional–they only imagine the people in the mission field.  In reality, missions are much more elaborate.  For every missionary in the field, there are dozens of partners who support financially, in prayer, and even in encouragement.  Part of fulfilling the Great Commission is spreading the Gospel to every people group; a goal like this can’t be accomplished without a team working together.

I’m not asking you to simply donate money and forget.  I’m asking you to be part of the adventure with me.  How wonderful is it to know that your money will make sure people hear the Gospel…some will even hear it for the first time!

In order for this mission to be a success, I need to raise a total of $4600 by May 17th.  This is a daunting task, but I know that the Lord will provide.  If you feel moved to donate financially, I am overjoyed!  All donations are tax-deductible. I have a website set up to collect online support.  My name won’t be listed because I’m going to a secure location, but I promise this link goes to support only me!

I’ve said for years that my favorite verse is 2 Corinthians 5:7.  Now this is my chance to really prove it, and I couldn’t be more excited!

If you have any questions, please leave a comment and I will respond.

Comments
  1. […] I was support raising for my mission trip I was often told, “What you’re doing is hateful and narrow minded. What gives you the […]

Leave a Reply

