Becoming Slaves

Posted: May 26, 2013 by ld12278 in Lifestyle, Theology
Tags: , ,

Hello, my name is Luke. While Dillon is on a mission trip, he asked me to fill in for him for the next six weeks. Although I will try to remain true to the form Dillon presents here normally, I will be putting my unique spin on it

For since I am free from all I can make myself a slave to all, in order to gain even more people. To the Jews I became like a Jew to gain the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law) to gain those under the law. To those free from the law I became like one free from the law (though I am not free from God’s law but under the law of Christ) to gain those free from the law. To the weak I became weak in order to gain the weak. I have become all things to all people, so that by all means I may save some. I do all these things because of the gospel, so that I can be a participant in it. -1 Corinthians 9:19-23 (NET).

The title of this blog is Becoming Slaves. When most people hear that word, there are many negative connotations with it. But in its truest sense, a slave is a servant. They do things for their master whether they like it or not. Why didn’t I use the word servant then? Because when I hear servant, I automatically assume that they have a choice. Slaves don’t.

What Paul writes here is that, as Christians, we are to become slaves of the Gospel. Despite what many people, both inside and outside the church, Christianity is not a safe and easy path. You don’t get to accept the Son, gain intimate access to the Father, be filled with the Spirit, then just sit and and celebrate every Sunday by dressing up and putting a twenty in the offering plate. Jesus did not die so that we could have it easy, but He died so we could not only have life, but share it.

How valuable is the human soul? In my area, one of my friends (I’ll call him Jack), decked in piercings and tattoos, tried going to a Christmas service at a more conservative church a few years ago. The pastor, standing at the door fretting, went up to him and told him because of his appearance, he wasn’t going to be allowed in the church. “You might intimidate the other members of the congregation,” said this man. And while all the “normal” people were inside worshipping a God who loves everybody, my friend was sitting in a car wondering how come that God didn’t love him because of his appearance. How devastating is that? Did Christ not come so that ALL who call on Him may be saved, not just the select good few?

How does this line up in your eyes? I’m personally appalled when he told me about this. But how many Jacks are out there in our world? How many Jacks do we know? How many Jacks are sloping through the cracks and having to spend the rest of eternity apart from a God that died to show them love? So I would urge you, my brothers and sisters in the faith, what will we sacrifice to show those who God loves the light? Our time, our money, our comfort, our lives? We are to becomes slaves to the Gospel, because no soul should slip by.

Leave a Reply

