Why Witness to Muslims?

Posted: July 17, 2013 by Dillon in Evangelism
Tags: , , , ,

While I was support raising for my mission trip I was often told, “What you’re doing is hateful and narrow minded. What gives you the right to go there and try to change their minds?”  I wasn’t necessarily surprised by the questions, but I was surprised at how difficult it was for me to articulate a good answer.  Sure, I’ve read dozens of books and articles about Islam.  I was very confident saying that everyone needs Jesus, no matter what.  But I couldn’t quite convey why Muslims especially need Jesus.

After spending 6 weeks in a closed country, that is hostile towards Christians and Christianity, I learned quite a bit about Islam.  These are things I learned from first hand experience, talking with practicing Muslims.  

Islam has no love: Yes, many Muslims are loving and compassionate people.  But Islam itself is entirely devoid of love.  Allah demands your obedience, but shows no love in return.  At best, a Muslim could hope that Allah decides to be merciful on any given day–rather than smite a believer.  I encountered many Muslims who said they loved Allah. But no one was able to say that Allah loves them back.

Islam has no forgiveness: At the end of a Muslim’s life he (I say “he” because most practicing Muslims say that many, many more men will enter paradise than women) will have his good deeds and bad deeds weighed on a scale. If the good outweighs the bad, the Muslim goes to paradise.  If the bad outweighs the good, hell is your destination. If the two sides are equal, then Allah may do with you whatever he decides.  None of these scenarios involves any forgiveness.  Even if a Muslim goes to paradise, he still must undergo some punishment for all of his bad deeds.

Islam is lonely:  Christians have an unending source of encouragement, comfort, and strength in the person of the Holy Spirit.  Being a Christian means never being truly alone, because God is with us.  But a Muslim doesn’t have this. Allah demands high standards, but gives no source of encouragement or comfort for Muslims.

Islam has no hope: Christians rely on the power of the Spirit to live a life that is pleasing and honorable to God; Muslims must rely on their own strength.  Because a holy, perfect God has a perfect standard, no human can live up to this.  Islam sets its believers up for failure.  Jesus actually said it is better for us to have the Spirit than to have Jesus walking the Earth (John 16:7).  The reason Jesus said this is because He knew the Spirit would give us a way to triumph over sin.  Islam has no way of doing this.

The more I learned, the more apparent it became how desperately Muslims need Jesus.  My motivation is going to the Middle East wasn’t to try and make converts, it was to show people the love, forgiveness, comfort, and hope that can come only from Jesus.  I pray that anyone struggling in a life without Jesus could find Him, but for some people that will only happen if I take the initiative and tell them who Jesus is.

Allah in Arabic

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Who are we to say what people of a different faith “need”? They might think that Christians need Allah, and would think that the idea of needing Jesus is incorrect. I can appreciate wanting to spread something that brings you joy and peace, but I don’t think it’s fair to presume that people of other faiths need what you have. They may take comfort in their beliefs the same as you do in yours, and it’s not for anyone else to say that they’re wrong. It feels to me like what you’re saying is that it’s ok that they have a belief in something else, but they’re wrong and are obviously not fulfilled by it, and I don’t think that’s fair either. Maybe there are some who are looking for something different, but you can’t say that somebody’s wrong just because they believe something different.

    • Anonymous :) says:

      If someone believed the world was flat, I would feel fairly confident telling them they are wrong because they believe something different.

      • Anonymous says:

        That is an entirely separate thing from religion, though. That’s a scientific fact. There is nothing scientific about religion, that’s the whole point. That’s why no person can be right or wrong when it comes to what’s “out there” – we all have our own beliefs. You can’t say that God is real and Allah is not, because you can’t possibly know that. You can’t say that they’re wrong because there’s not a way to prove that Christianity is more correct than Islam, or Judaism, or anything else. People believe differently, and I don’t think trying to get them to change is right if they’re happy with what they have. Live and let live.

  2. Name Here says:

    I think many Muslim individuals would disagree with your statements. I don’t think you can fully understand the devotion and love felt within a particular religion unless you belong to it yourself. I also think It’s probably difficult to understand the tiny details of a religion unless you belong to it.

  3. A comment above suggests that as Christians how do we know what people of another faith “need”? My only comment on that is that part of being the christian that I am makes me WANT everyone to feel the love for and from God that I feel on a daily basis. Feeling loved and cared about is physically a need of human beings, no matter what religion you may come from. Having said that I know that God loves like like no other, and His love is simply something that people need, and can not find anywhere except for through Him.

    • Anonymous says:

      I’m not saying they don’t need love, and I even said I understand the want to share that with others, but you can’t say that they feel no love. We don’t know that. They may feel a great amount of love in their belief and from their deity, we just don’t understand it because we don’t practice what they do or share their beliefs.

Leave a Reply

