Church Should Be A Bar

Posted: August 7, 2013 by Dillon in Lifestyle
Tags: , , , ,

Sometimes you want to go 

Where everybody knows your name, 
and they’re always glad you came. 
You wanna be where you can see, 
our troubles are all the same 
You wanna be where everybody knows 
Your name.

It’s one of the most recognized theme songs ever.  But if you didn’t know the location being talked about, what would the lyrics remind you of?  Work? Church?  The school cafeteria?  Nope.  The lyrics are describing a bar.

I’ve been to quite a few bars in my life–my uncle owns a karaoke business and the family would often participate.  At almost every bar I’ve been in there have been “regulars.”  These are the people who always come together, or meet up together at the bar.  From watching them, I’ve noticed a camaraderie that is hard to find anywhere else.  A regular comes to the bar because he knows the people there.  He knows that he can be honest with the people around him.  A regular comes to a bar and isn’t afraid to complain about work, share insecurities, or to be themselves.  How many churches have the same relationships?

When I walk into a church, it’s way too common to find a group of people trying their best to hide who they are.  It’s the mindset of, “I’m in a church, so I have to act a certain way…I can’t let people know what I’m really like.”  This is the complete opposite of how it should be!  Church should be a place where people are comfortable being real with each other.  How badly has the body of Christ failed that the place with the most fellowship is also the place where so much negativity happens?

I should clarify that I don’t have a problem with bars themselves, just some of the things I’ve seen happen in bars.  But let’s be realistic here; television had it right when it said that bars are people’s safe havens.  It’s up to the Church to catch up.  The Church should be a place where everybody knows your name.  The Church should be a place where everyone can share their same troubles.  The Church should be a bar.

Cheers Bar

Leave a Reply

